2023 European Capital of Innovation announced: Lisbon and Linköping are the winners of this year's iCapital Awards

2023 European Capital of Innovation announced: Lisbon and Linköping are the winners of this year's iCapital Awards

The European Commission has revealed today the winners of the European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital), with the main prizes going to the cities of Lisbon and Linköping

Moreover, the 1st and 2nd runners up have been also announced as follows:

The European Capital of Innovation category:

  • Lisbon (Portugal) - winner
  • Warsaw (Poland) - 1st runner up
  • Lviv (Ukraine) – 2nd runner up

The European Rising Innovative city category:

  • Linköping (Sweden) - winner
  • Padova (Italy) – 1st runner up
  • Cork (Ireland) – 2nd runner up

Iliana Ivanova, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth awarded the prizes in Marseille during a ceremony co-hosted by the Aix-Marseille Provence Métropole, winner of iCapital 2022. Among others, the mayors from the winning cities, members of the European Parliament, Mayor of Haarlem (Rising Innovative city winner 2022) and innovation stakeholders from France and different African countries attended the ceremony.

This event was part of the opening for the Aix Marseille Provence Metropole (AMP) innovation week, and it included the conference “Share the future” and the awards ceremony for the “Prix des possibles”, organised by AMP and inspired by the iCapital awards, to support local innovators. High-level experts and policy makers had the opportunity to discuss production of the energy of the future, protecting water resources, supporting innovators, and creating a Mediterranean sustainable city.

This innovation week will continue with the celebration of the Emerging Valleys. Under the Haut Patronage of French President Emmanuel Macron, this is the biggest summit of EU and African start-ups and innovation ecosystems.


Supported by the European Innovation Council (EIC) under Horizon Europe, this is the ninth edition of the prestigious European Capital of Innovation Awards, also known as iCapital.

Through iCapital, the EU recognises cities with inclusive innovation ecosystems. The prize identifies cities connecting citizens with academia, businesses, and the public sector to successfully translate results into improved well-being of society while simultaneously boosting game-changing innovation.

The prize was first awarded in 2014. Past winners include Barcelona (2014), Amsterdam (2016), Paris (2017), Athens (2018), Nantes (2019), Leuven (2020), Dortmund (2021), and Aix-Marseille Provence Metropole (2022) as European Capitals of Innovation. Past winners in the Rising Innovative city category include Vantaa (2021) and Haarlem (2022).

iCapital is one of the five EIC Prizes granted under Horizon Europe, the EU's research and innovation framework programme. The prize is open to cities from all EU member states and countries associated to Horizon Europe and it is managed by the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency, The winners are chosen following an assessment performed by two high-level juries of independent experts.

We use our own and third-party cookies to enable and improve your browsing experience on our website. If you go on surfing, we will consider you accepting its use.